Coal man

He came with his red van and his coal and it still hot of a September day and I asked him had he an ice-cream machine that I would buy a 99 of him but he hadn’t so i didn’t. Two weeks later i bought two bags of coal of him just in case and just for peace and well just cause he a good bloke. The weather is still hot so when he called today in his shiny new white van (okay it was new to him and not really new and far from shiny) I gave him €30 and his young lad €2 and told him the young fella was doing all the work and he needed to start doing a bit do shift a bit of the weight he had accumulated around the mid section.I offered to sell him a few bags of blocks I still have from last year, sure the wife hasn’t even light the fire yet and the sweat pouring of the whole of Ireland with the unseasonable warmth we have upon us. But he wouldn’t buy them of me and left me with a warning that “he would be back”. I told him I was an accountant once and gave him my card if he had an inclination to pay tax of a day. i nearlyhad to ring the hospital with the fit of laughing he fell into.

Leave a Reply

