Irish Mythology | Brigid, Queen of Imbolc

amazing pictures and lovely bit of Irish history

aliisaacstoryteller

St Brigid's Well, Lisnabantry, Co Cavan. St Brigid’s Well, Lisnabantry, Co Cavan.

It was a really cold day. Drifts of snow lay on the ground, and frost iced the branches of trees and blades of grass with sparkling fairy dust. I decided to mark the festival of Imbolc by visiting St Brigid’s Well at Lisnabantry, about 5 minutes drive from where I live.

It is situated on the edge of bogland, near a very ancient looking cemetery called Roffney Burial Ground. I was pleasantly surprised by what I found. It was well looked after, and clearly quite recently visited, as you can see from the pictures; there was evidence of many candles having been lit, and gifts had been left for Brigid.

It was a very peaceful place, in lovely, quiet countryside. I said my bit to Brigid, swirled my hand in the bone-chilling water, and turned to leave. It was only then that I noticed…

View original post 921 more words

One thought on “Irish Mythology | Brigid, Queen of Imbolc”

Leave a Reply

