The Expected Reply

I stand to watch where the step opens to the snow

listening to them pass me by and I wonder

When the questions are asked and the opinions given

when the talk turns to their joy and my mundane

I wonder should I stop and think for what lies to tell

To follow the scores, to shout at the strippers

To dance with the rest on crystal floors.

The ice twists in to my skin and I wonder no more

Such craziness is beyond my thoughts

My path through the fog is unclear

Thorns strip skin where roses shine

thoughts bombard in rapid succession

their heritage the fore-bearers of the books

and dreams I hold within and absorb from outside

I close the door and let the strangeness win.

(C) Frank McGivney 03.02.15

#poem #poetry #wild

2 thoughts on “The Expected Reply”

Leave a Reply

