Thoughts on writing

There I was with the words on the page. The first attempts at a novel and the sentences were piled up and I had listened to the wisdom of writers and was trying to use it. Then one night you think that the boy who is the story needs to live in the shadows with a mind like my own but willing to follow his thoughts. And the story changes easily and although Im still only at the start of writing it I am really enjoying the whole experience. If no one else ever reads it then it doesn’t matter because I will have enjoyed reading it myself and along the way my mind has developed.
I think anyone who has any inclination should try it. I’m far from a good writer but that doesn’t matter it’s the experience that gives the therapy and healing not the finished product. And more importantly the fun.

4 thoughts on “Thoughts on writing”

  1. I would agree that it is all about the process, and that writing should come from within. Don’t be too self-judgmental, though – if only one other person enjoys your writing then it has been successful in terms of reaching them emotional. Besides, quality is not measured in numbers – you need simply to read many a ‘best-seller’ to realise that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thats definitly true chris. Its great how different people like different writing. I would have no interest in a lot of best sellers yet theres loads that do like them. Theres a market for all types out there

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck with your novel. You may find that your characters do things that you hadn’t anticipated – mine do,taking the plot in different directions to what I’d planned. As E L Doctorow observed : “Writing is like driving at night in the fog. You can only see as far as your headlights, but you can make the whole trip that way.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

